LucidMagic.net

Neverwinter Nights => NwN Building => Script Request => Topic started by: fireknight40 on January 23, 2005, 01:14:42 AM

Title: Sorry about spamming the forum, but...
Post by: fireknight40 on January 23, 2005, 01:14:42 AM
Does anyone know how to make a portal to go to another server?
Title: Sorry about spamming the forum, but...
Post by: Tea-cup on January 23, 2005, 08:20:53 AM
Quote
Does anyone know how to make a portal to go to another server?
[snapback]16292[/snapback]
As dm or with a script?

-Mel
Title: Sorry about spamming the forum, but...
Post by: iceycool56 on January 23, 2005, 09:03:03 AM
If you're talking about script, this would do it:

Code: [Select]
void ActivatePortal(object oTarget, string sIPaddress = "", string sPassword = "",
       string sWaypointTag = "", int bSeamless = FALSE);

oTarget - PC of the client to transfer.
sIPaddress - DNS name or IP address (and optional port) of new server.
sPassword - Password for login to the destination server.
sWaypointTag - If set, arriving PCs will jump to this waypoint after appearing at the start location.                                      
bSeamless - If TRUE, the transition will be made 'seamless', and the PC will not get a dialogue box on transfer.
Title: Sorry about spamming the forum, but...
Post by: Tea-cup on January 23, 2005, 09:29:00 AM
As dm you can make a serverportal with the creator. You have to supply the ip or dns adress of the server. Password can be entered when you activate the portal. If no port is entered the game automatic takes 5121 (also for the script). When you enter the portal you can choose your char and you start on the other servers startpoint, if the connection is succesfull of course.

Having a tool to destroy objects is very usefull in case you mistype the ip/dns.

-Mel
Title: Sorry about spamming the forum, but...
Post by: fireknight40 on January 23, 2005, 07:13:00 PM
Okay I did mean with a script. Thank you both. :)
Just one more question if I don't want them to go to a waypoint but to the start location how do I do that do I just take out the Waypoint part or what?
Title: Sorry about spamming the forum, but...
Post by: Tea-cup on January 24, 2005, 12:39:42 PM
Quote
Okay I did mean with a script. Thank you both. :)
Just one more question if I don't want them to go to a waypoint but to the start location how do I do that do I just take out the Waypoint part or what?
[snapback]16404[/snapback]
Yep. If you give a waypoint that doesn't exist nothing happens either. Just the start point is where you start.

-Mel
Title: Sorry about spamming the forum, but...
Post by: fireknight40 on January 24, 2005, 05:49:58 PM
Okay thank you again. :)